Stream: Winterjazz in Space

Neue Webisoden Serie vom 7. – 12. Januar 2022

The 11th edition of the "Winterjazz Köln" festival, which was to take place from January 7 to 8, 2022 in cooperation with the artist development program NICA artist development in the Stadtgarten Cologne, unfortunately had to be canceled due to the current Corona situation. Since then, work has been going full steam ahead to make the music of the program audible to the public in its freshness and spirit of exploration despite the circumstances. This resulted in the new webisode series "Winterjazz in Space", which will feature a total of 6 broadcasts of 3 bands each from January 7 to 12, 2022 on and the Facebook channels of Stadtgarten.

All details are subject to change. Short-term program changes are possible.

"Always on the lookout for the unexpected, the mysterious" - this is how bassist Lukas Keller describes the stubborn nature of his quartet BÖRT. The four musicians* from the dense Cologne scene present their playful approach to the existing, surprising ideas, a pinch of humor and self-evident virtuosity. The curiosity for the other, not heard brings the four to new shores and drives them to never stand still musically.

Theresia Philipp (sax, cl), Jonathan Hofmeister (pno), Lukas Keller (b), Jan Philipp (dr)

Leif Berger - "The noise trumpets of nothingness".
Metaphor: When I look into the forest, there are many interlocking, shifting layers, nets, depths, some very close, some very far away, they shift depending on focus and position / Recurring dream: Overwhelming, rapidly increasing and potentiating masses and numbers that make me disbelieve and faint. / Magical staging: Dioramas in natural history museums. / Symbol of the serenely advancing, ego-less spirit: Clouds. / Aphorism: Human history is the second between two steps of a wanderer.

Philipp Gropper (sax), Elisabeth Coudoux (vc), Elias Stemeseder (synth), Leif Berger (dr)

Daniel Tamayo Quintet
Colombian Daniel Tamayo has been in Cologne since 2015 and is active as a guitarist and composer in various projects in Europe, but also in New York and Medellín. His quintet aims to create a special sound experience that takes listeners into a world of textures, mixing electronics with free improvisation and composed music. "The sound is allowed to oscillate in moods, is sometimes articulated acoustically and technically sovereign, sometimes infiltrated electronically."

Daniel Felipe Tamayo Gomez (guit, comp), Yaroslav Likhachev (ts), Moritz Preisler (pno), Conrad Noll (b), Simon Bräumer (dr)

Mon, 10.01.2022
Concert Highlight!

Jazz, Improvisation

Stream Start 19:00

Add to Calendar Download iCal-File

Receive Newsletter

By registering my e-mail address in the left-sided box "Receive Newsletter" I agree that the Initiative Kölner Jazz Haus e.V. is allowed to regularly send me information about concerts, events and news in this context via e-mail. My agreement can be revoked at any time. Further information on the use of the consent included in the agreement with our newsletter-service provider MailChimp, the use of cookies and your right of revocation can be found within our privacy policy.