© Volker Beushausen / © Florian Fries

((( LIVESTREAM ))) BTHVN 2020: Rebekka Salomea Ziegler & Ulla Oster

Die Veranstaltung findet ersatzweise als Livestream statt.

BTHVN 2020 - much has been and will be performed this year and next year on the occasion of Beethoven's 250th birthday. With the project "Re: Immortal Beloved", the Initiative Kölner Jazz Haus has also commissioned five Cologne musicians and composers to explore Beethoven: To work on Beethoven's music and ideas from their own perspective, to transform them, to allow themselves to be stimulated by them, to find personal "answers", a response in forms of contemporary improvised music against the background of our German - classical - music history and in direct reference to the "giant" Beethoven (and his distant, immortal lover). And at the same time to reverse the (so often female) role as "source of inspiration" - once again to break the stereotype of "muse for the artistic creation of genius".
The conceptual task in this project was then: How can I - in my musical language - bring a Beethoven work or parts of it or its texts into a "contemporary" context from the field of jazz/improvised contemporary music, with which compositional, improvisational and dramaturgical-conceptual means and beyond "banal" adaptations of more or less well-known Beethoven melodies? How has Beethoven influenced me, and how can he inspire me today? Which quotations do I use/edit, where do I lead them to - by what means? How can I (and the ensemble) juxtapose the original compositions with something different, personal and yet related or even disparate, and make this perceptible to an audience?
We are extremely curious to see what the five musicians Rebekka Ziegler, Ulla Oster, Angelika Niescier, Christina Fuchs and Caroline Thon will present with their - exquisitely cast - ensembles on two evenings!

We would like to thank Beethoven Jubiläums GmbH and WDR for their kind support.

Thu, 03.12.2020
Concert Highlight!

Rebekka Salomea Ziegler (voice), Sebastian Gille (saxophone), Kathrin Pechlof (harp), Stefan Schönegg (double bass), Leif Berger (drums), Radek Stawarz (violin), Julien Blondel (violoncello), Liz Kosack (synthesizer/electronics), Lucas Leidinger (piano), Ulla Oster (bass), Jo Beyer (drums)


concert hall Start 20:00

Add to Calendar Download iCal-File

This event is supported by

Receive Newsletter

By registering my e-mail address in the left-sided box "Receive Newsletter" I agree that the Initiative Kölner Jazz Haus e.V. is allowed to regularly send me information about concerts, events and news in this context via e-mail. My agreement can be revoked at any time. Further information on the use of the consent included in the agreement with our newsletter-service provider MailChimp, the use of cookies and your right of revocation can be found within our privacy policy.