The legendary rhythm section of Peter Brötzmann's Full Blast joins forces with the spirited guitarist Ava Mendoza from Brooklyn in a brand new formation. A brand new trio that successfully toured Brazil and Argentina in June 2023. Mendoza-Pliakas-Wertmueller will further develop the attitude of Full Blast: tumultuous, fiery free music with a great guitarist, formally conscious, architectural, ecstatic!

AVA MENDOZA (*1983) is a Brooklyn-based guitarist, singer, songwriter and composer known for her virtuosic technique and sensibility. In any context, she strives to bring expressiveness, energy and a broad spectrum of sound to the music. Mendoza has toured the US and Europe and has worked with musicians such as Carla Bozulich, Malcolm Mooney, Steve Shelley, Mike Watt, Adele Bertei, Mick Barr, William Hooker, Nels Cline, Matana Roberts, John Zorn, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Fred Frith, William Parker, Hamid Drake, Object Collection (Travis Just), ROVA, Negativland and the Violent Femmes. She was last at Stadtgarten in 2021 with Erik Friedlaender.

MICHAEL WERTMUELLER (*1966) and MARINO PLIAKAS (*1964) have toured hundreds of concerts worldwide since 2004 as the rhythm section of FULL BLAST together with Peter Brötzmann and have worked in various projects with Caspar Broetzmann, Stephan Wittwer, John Cale, Holger Csukay, Marian Gold, Mouse on Mars, Jaki Liebezeit, KK. Null, Olaf Rupp, IVES #1, and many others; collaboration with Pliakas' avant-trio STEAMBOAT SWITZERLAND, various operas and new music contexts with Klangforum Wien, MusikFabrik Köln, Ensemble Courage Dresden, Hamburg State Opera, Theater Basel, Ruhrtriennale, Donaueschingen, Schauspielhaus Hamburg etc.) Both have toured worldwide with their various bands (MW: William Parker Trio, Alboth! 16-17, W2; MP: steamboat switzerland, sludge 2000 etc.).

Thu, 21.03.2024
Concert Highlight!

Ava Mendoza (guitar), Marino Pliakas (e-bass, guitar), Michael Wertmueller (drums)


concert hall Start 20:00 Doors 19:00

22 €/12 € red. Presale Please note: vendors of presale-tickets may charge additional fees. 25 €/15 € red. Box Office

Order Tickets ticket i/O

External Links Bandcamp YouTube

Add to Calendar Download iCal-File

Receive Newsletter

By registering my e-mail address in the left-sided box "Receive Newsletter" I agree that the Initiative Kölner Jazz Haus e.V. is allowed to regularly send me information about concerts, events and news in this context via e-mail. My agreement can be revoked at any time. Further information on the use of the consent included in the agreement with our newsletter-service provider MailChimp, the use of cookies and your right of revocation can be found within our privacy policy.